Sanmi Ittai* means the unification of the three elements of mind, body, and bow into one harmonious whole. Specifically, this means that kyudo requires: 1) a stable mind, 2) a stable body, and 3) assured and well-honed technique.

Sanmi Ittai bedeutet die Vereinigung der drei Elemente Geist, Körper und Bogen in ein harmonisches Ganzes. Im Besonderen bedeutet dies, dass Kyudo 1. einen gefestigten Geist, 2.) einen gefestigten Körper und 3.) eine gesicherte und geschliffene Technik verlangt

Seisha Hitchu

Literally, "True shooting, certain hitting." This phrase expresses the belief that a correct shot will always hit the target. See Hosha Hitchu. Seisha Hitchu is the more commonly used term.


The Law of Shooting, also called the Principles Of Shooting. The Shaho refers to the proper fundamentals of how to shoot a bow. See Shaho Hassetsu.


Shaho Hassetsu
The Eight Stages Of The Law Of Shooting. This refers to the eight steps of the shooting procedure:
Ashibumi , or taking the stance,
Dozukuri, or setting the torso,
Yugamae, or bow at the ready posture,
Uchiokoshi, or lifting up,
Hikiwake, or drawing apart,
Kai, or holding at full draw,
Hanare, or the release, and
Zanshin, or remaining body (mind).

See the Kyudo Manual and The Essence And Practice Of Japanese Archery for a detailed explanation of the Shaho Hassetsu.

Shaho Kun

A text authored by Yoshimi Junsei, also known as Daiuemon Tsunetake, the founder of the Kishu line of the Chikurin-ha of the Heki Ryu. It explains the fundamentals of the Shaho.